Independent Skilled Visa (Subclass 189)

This permanent visa and is assessed against your skills. This stream is for points-tested skilled applicants who are not sponsored by an employer or family member or nominated by a state or territory government. It allows you to live and work in Australia as a permanent resident.

Who is eligible for an Independent Skilled Visa?

This visa is for skilled applicants who are currently in or outside Australia who satisfy the skilled points test.

Processing of applications are by invitation only and an intended applicant must submit an Expression of Interest (EOI) and have a suitable skills assessment for that occupation. You occupation must be on the Australian skills list.

You must be under the age of 45 years at the time of making application and have competent English language Skills.

During processing of the Subclass 189 visa it is assessed on a points system and 65 points are required to qualify as well as meeting the standard conditions.

Points are awarded in the following categories:

  • Age
  • English Language
  • Australian and Overseas Work Experience
  • Australian Study
  • Qualifications
  • Community Language
  • Regional Australian Study
  • Spouse Skills
  • Professional Year

Take the confusion out of

Visa applications

Get expert advice and support on your visa application with our online portal